

Re: Coronavirus Response Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSAA) Funding

This letter is to briefly outline the process of Hennepin Technical College's (HTC) CRRSAA student consultation. During our January 27<sup>th</sup> Student Senate meeting, students received updates and details regarding the draft CRRSAA funds distribution plan. Along with the student leaders from both campuses, Vice President of Finance and Operations Joe Wightkin, Vice President of Student Affairs Jess Lauritsen, Director of Student Life & Career Development Sue Schmitz, Brooklyn Park Student Senate Advisor Laura Otieno, and Eden Prairie Student Senate Advisor Jese Ledbetter attended the meeting. Background materials were provided during this meeting to detail the college's plan to distribute the funds to students. The discussion allowed Student Senate leaders to ask questions about the budget.

The administration explained how the spring 2020 CARES Stimulus funds from the Federal Department of Education were awarded to HTC and where to find detailed spending accounts of the 2020 CARES Stimulus funds. In addition, a detailed plan for allocating the CRRSAA stimulus student aid funds, the emergency grant process and application, as well as the process for student communication were reviewed. Vice President of Student Affairs, Jess Lauritsen, shared the details and solicited feedback on the draft distribution plan.

The Student Senate is in support of the draft plan for allocating student aid funding, the student emergency grant process and application, and the process for student communication. The Student Senate particularly supported the spending on emergency aid and tuition grants for students.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the budget consultation at Hennepin Technical College, please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Guadalufe Lora Jonesez

Guadalupe Lira-Jimenez (2020-2021 Brooklyn Park Student Senate President)

DocuSigned by:

abdulliakime abdurliaman

-41A13294B56E48F..

Abdulhakime Abdurhaman (2020-2021 Eden Prairie Senate Vice President)