Skip to main content

Hennepin Technical College IT Division Chair Joan Bernard Selected to Receive National Distinguished Community College Faculty Recognition

Hennepin Technical College faculty member Joan Bernard of the Informational Technology department has been selected to receive the inaugural Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty recognition by the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

WATCH NOW: "2017 Joan Bernard, Computer Careers/Information Systems Instructor"

The honor will be officially awarded during the AACC Convention taking place in Dallas, Texas later this spring. In addition to receiving a commemorative medal, Faculty Chair Bernard will also be invited to attend a private reception with author Jeanette Walls during the conference.

As an instructor, mentor, advisor and academic leader in the Information Technology (IT) program, Bernard prepares students to enter the workforce or advance their high tech career. She teaches foundation courses leading to A.A.S. degrees, diplomas and advanced technical certificates in Network Administrator/Analyst, and in IT Support. She has also been instrumental in curriculum writing efforts that will support new two-year awards in Cyber Defense and Network Security. As a woman with high tech industry experience, Bernard serves as a role model and advocate for females considering a career in a technology-related field.

“Joan is one of the most talented, conscientious, enthusiastic, and innovative educators at our institution,” says Dr. Merrill Irving, Jr., President of Hennepin Technical College. “On any given day, Joan’s students are actively engaged in both heads-on and hands-on learning. Her ability to connect with students and engage them in learning experiences stands as a model for all Minnesota State faculty.”

According to the AACC website, the recognition was named in honor of former AACC President and CEO Dale P. Parnell, and was established to recognize individuals making a difference in the classroom. Nominees demonstrate passion for the students and the classroom; show willingness to support students; participate in college committees; and go above and beyond what is required to ensure that students are successful in their academic endeavors.


Last updated by mdibba : 2022-06-07 01:59:23