Skip to main content

2019 Crystal Pillar Awards

This past week on April 12, 2019, Hennepin Technical College joined other nominees at the Crowne Plaza AiRE in Bloomington for the 2019 National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Upper Midwest Regional Emmys also known as the Crystal Pillar Awards. This ceremony recognizes excellence in media production for high school and college students within the upper Midwest.

Hennepin Technical College (HTC) received a Crystal Pillar Award for a video produced for the “Ticknor House” in Anoka, Mn. Video Production student, Justin Ramey accepted the award stating; “I would like to thank the Anoka County Historical Society for the opportunity to tell the story of this historic place”.

The Anoka County Historical Society also received Crystal Pillar runner-up status for the “Carlos Avery Game Farm” video which was produced by Hennepin Tech student, Charles Ellingson.These video projects were a collaboration between Anoka County Historical Society and Hennepin Technical College which were produced last October. The project highlighted the National Registry of Historic Places in Anoka County.

Watch Now: Award Winning Video "Ticknor House - Anoka, Minnesota" from Rich Oxley on Vimeo.

To watch all of videos produced by ACHS and HTC, visit Vimeo Anoka County Historical Society.

Justin Ramey with Award
Justin Ramey with Award
Award image
Pillar Award
Justin Ramey (Ticknor House) and Charles Ellingson (Carlos Avery Game Farm)
Pillar Award Ceremony
Pictured Left to Right Rich Oxley (Instructor) Calvin Bentz, Kale Asada, Ian Glendenning, Justin Ramey, Perry Nguyen, Lina Abdirham-Mohamed, Jerone Berra Sour, Leah Fisher, Dallas Gibson and Charles Ellingson.

All Hennepin Technical College Nominations

C-05: College – Music Video

Blessings Music Video

  • Cody Anton, Producer
  • Richard Oxley, Advisor

Fab Da Jewel – Progreso/Envidia y Fama

  • Jerome Bour Serra Producer
  • Richard Oxley, Advisor

C-08: College – Long Form: Fiction


  • Perry Nguyen, Director
  • Dyaln Salber, Actor
  • Leah Fischer, Actress
  • Dallas Gibson, Director of Photography
  • Cameron Ruff-Freiberg, Editor
  • Ian Glendenning, Production Assistant
  • Lina M. Abdirahman, Audio
  • Richard Oxley, Advisor

C-13: College – Public Service (PSAs)

Selfie Killer_1080pvim

  • Justin Ramey, Director
  • Dylan Salber, Actor
  • Josh Olson, Director of Photography
  • Lina Mohamed-Abdirahman, Production Assistant
  • Ian Glendenning, Writer
  • Kale Asada, Writer
  • Richard Oxley, Advisor

C-17: College – Animation/Graphics/Special Effects


  • Riley Cominetti, Director
  • Calvin Bentz, Director of Photography
  • Michael Schmitz, Editor
  • John McCaffrey, Advisor

Last updated by mdibba : 2022-11-12 02:50:24