Skip to main content

Hennepin Technical College has permanently filled three critical positions


Marybeth Christenson-Jones has been appointed Chief Human Resources Officer. Ms. Christenson-Jones has served as the Interim Chief Human Resources Officer since July 2017. In partnership with the IT department, Christenson-Jones helped improve the hiring process by creating a New Employee Orientation program. She has partnered with the HTC department of Equity and Inclusion to conduct college-wide training sessions to create a positive and respective work environment. In addition, she has reorganized the Human Resources department so that staff members are subject matter experts versus generalist.

Ms. Christenson-Jones has over 23 years of experience in human resources and labor relations and 18 years of experience within the Minnesota State system. Her previous roles include Interim Chief Human Resources Officer positions at St. Cloud State University, Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College, and Pine Technical and Community College; Chief Human Resources Officer and Director of Diversity at Anoka Technical College; Director of Classified Labor Relations at Jefferson County Public Schools; and Personnel Director for Minnesota State. She has hired, trained and coached several high performing Minnesota State Chief Human Resources Officers as well as served as a mentor to women looking to advance in leadership positions.


Dr. Leanne Rogstad has been appointed Academic Dean. Dr. Rogstad will lead the following areas: Allied Health programs; Law Enforcement; Public Works; Fire Protection; Environmental Health and Safety; Electronics; and CCIS. She has served as the Interim Academic Dean since October 2018. In her interim role, Dr. Rogstad supervised the development and/or revision of curriculum and implemented instructional programs. She also developed course schedules and faculty assignments and, in collaboration with the Provost, hired, supervised and evaluated personnel affiliated with her portfolio. Under her leadership, she has successfully supported the Nursing department’s challenge to increase its first-time NCLEX-PN success rates from 70.49% to the minimally acceptable 80% or greater. Within the first-quarter of 2019, the pass rate rose to 94.12%.

Her previous roles include Dean of Nursing at Rasmussen College-Blaine; Clinic Manager at University of Minnesota Physicians; and Nursing Director at the practical and associate degree level at Minneapolis Community and Technical College.


Alison Leintz has been appointed Academic Dean. Ms. Leintz will lead the following areas: Auto Body Collision Technology; Automotive Technology; Carpentry; Ford ASSET; HVAC; Light Rail Transit Technician; Machine Tool Technology & Quality Assurance; Marine, Motorsport & Outdoor Power Equipment Technology; Medium Heavy Truck Technology; Plastics Engineering Technology; Plumbing Technology; Welding & Metal Fabrication; and Woodworking Technology. Ms. Leintz has served as the Interim Academic Dean of Career and Technical Education since 2017. As Interim Dean, she provided leadership to faculty in curriculum development and revisions that has resulted in 9 new and revised awards and 16 new and revised courses. Under her leadership, 46% of programs in her portfolio have modified course schedules to increase evening course offerings and to create multiple entry points into programs for new students. Additionally, Leintz has served on several college-wide committees and has been appointed to key roles. The committees and appointments include: member of Academic Affairs and Standards Council; Faculty Shared Governance Council; HTC’s Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) for the Higher Learning Commission (HLC); and co-leading the HTC’s Strategic Planning taskforce for student success.

Leintz has nineteen years of progressive leadership in academic and student affairs within the Minnesota State system, with fourteen of those years at Hennepin Technical College. She has also worked at North Hennepin Community College as Interim Assistant Director of Admissions and Outreach and Admissions Specialist.

Last updated by mdibba : 2022-10-18 04:23:18