Skip to main content

HTC Students Receive Honors From Upper Midwest Emmys

Crystal Pillar Student Award of Excellence

Brooklyn Park, April 6, 2020 – Four students at Hennepin Technical College (HTC) have won Crystal Pillar awards for video production. The awards recognize excellence in media production for college and high school students and are part of the Upper Midwest Regional Emmys presented by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). In addition, an HTC student earned a scholarship from the organization.

The students who were honored are studying Interactive Design and Video Production at HTC.

Students Calvin Bentz, Ian Glendenning, and Jacob Youngquist were photojournalists and editors for the video, “H.G. Leathers House,” which tells the story of a historic home in Anoka County. The video won in the category for college video essay, single camera.

WATCH NOW: "H.G. Leathers House - St. Francis, Minnesota" from Rich Oxley on Vimeo.

HTC student Adam Beech was the winner in the animation/graphics/special effects category. He was the producer and director of “Maid v Frog”.

WATCH NOW: "Maid v Frog" from Richard Oxley on YouTube

The NATAS-Upper Midwest Emmy Foundation announced its college scholarship recipients. HTC video production student Alex Redding earned the Ulysses Carlini scholarship. Redding is on the autism spectrum and says while his disability presents challenges, he also finds that it provides him with advantages such as excellent attention to detail while working with production equipment and software.

About Hennepin Technical College

Founded in 1972, Hennepin Technical College (HTC) is the largest stand-alone technical college in Minnesota. With campuses in Brooklyn Park and Eden Prairie, the college has a diverse student population of more than 18,000 and offers degree and non-degree coursework in over 45 programs. Achieving a 99% job placement rate, HTC prepares students for in-demand and high-paying employment opportunities. HTC is a member of Minnesota State, which includes 30 colleges and seven state universities. Visit

Media contact: Lisa Kiava,

Last updated by mdibba : 2022-07-21 07:20:37